The Correct Call!

I am always in pursuit of the perfect game. Not as a pitcher striking out every batter. Not as a batter hitting for a cycle including a grand-slam home run. But as an umpire calling a perfect game, while handling every disputed call with poise and confidence.

Collision At First

Collision At First

Michael Leavitt 160SEPTEMBER 5, 2018

The play that is always so frustrating is when the infielders botch their assignments and instead of a routine out at first, you end up with a train wreck in the making. Time tends to slow down as the realization that two body masses are on alternate courses to the same base and no matter what the call, somebody is going to lose badly.

The following video is just one such case. The pitcher proudly watches from her circle as the first and second baseman go for the ball.  Second comes up with it and then realizes she is in a foot race to first. Was the runner there first? Or did the second baseman beat the runner? I slowed it way down and will leave the call to you.

Enjoy the video...

YOUTUBE LINK:

Make it a great day!

Michael Leavitt - Orem, Utah

WAS SHE OUT OR SAFE?

Portable Hanger Stand
Ball Hit Bat - Or - Bat Hit Ball
 

Comments 1

Guest - Justin on Tuesday, 10 September 2019 07:04

Didn’t use safety base. Play was not from foul territory. Runner out.

Didn’t use safety base. Play was not from foul territory. Runner out.
Already Registered? Login Here
Guest
Tuesday, 29 September 2020
If you'd like to register, please fill in the username, password and name fields.

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://usasoftballutahumpires.com/